Gibson Brands Forums

Can bands be a shared democracy?

Equal power for everyone, or does someone need to be the leader?

The bassist complains about everything until he gets someone to side with him, especially for a band name. I don't care that much about the band name, but everything he is suggesting is too br00tal (The Last of the Fallen, Whispered Last Breath, etc.)

The other guitarist said that I should be the "leader" because I do most of the song writing and all of the lyrics for the songs. Am I in the wrong?

(The Last of the Fallen, Whispered Last Breath, etc.)

These are certainly better than the "drunken" name you have... You need to have a band name that both pleases you and doesnt offend possible fans/promoters/venues etc...

Its not a hard thing to do...

I've been a professional musician most of my life and have a band now. The first thing you must do in a band if you intend to have a serious band for more than a few weeks, is decide "who is the leader"? The problem with not having a designated leader, is too many vague directions. Not enough focus. The second thing is the mission/focus for the band, what do you want to accomplish, what kind of audience and so on? Will you be a tribute band or have your own sound, even if you do covers. Clapton along with most successful musicians, cover other songs but do not copy other bands. The pick songs you can play well, or sell to an audience. Don't just pick songs YOU like. Learn the weaknesses of your band and stay away from them and find the strengths and play in to them. Remember, an audience wants to be entertained, they can listen to music anywhere. So pay attention to the energy of the song choices you make and the band's presentation of those songs. Learn the songs so well you don't have to think about them while playing them. Focus on and get the audience involved and have a good time.

I hope this helps,

It works three ways.