Gibson Brands Forums

Promoters and Festivals

Enmitygauged

My Band has finally started making waves in our home town. We have been asked to Play a Metal/Punk Festival. It is a national Festival but at the moment due to work we are only playing Adelaide.

The Promoter came to us and said for $300 you get 40 tickets to sell for $25.00 each I am happy to do this as there is a profit and I can't see us not selling them. My question is though is this normal?

I'm no expert so someone may correct, but I do not believe this is normal. In fact I believe it is actually a bit shady. A reputable promoter generally does not sell tickets at a discount to the acts that are playing the show, they are in the business of making money from selling the tickets themselves.

As a rule I have never done* nor will do a pay to play gig. That's the promoter dumping the responsibility of getting bodies at the show exclusively onto the bands. It is shady. Ponying up cash at the end of the night to pay the sound guy because no one came out? Understood. But prepaying? No way.

* My last band did do a battle of the bands (rigged, they're all rigged) where we had a ticket selling deal, but as long as you turned in either the unsold tickets or the cash you weren't out any money. We placed in the top three and were offered to move on to the next round, but declined.

I am a concert promoter in Fla. This is not unusual. I just did an Overkill date with 4 bands on the tour. We added 2 locals, gave them 50 tix each to sell for us. But there are "pay to play" scenarios that occur all the time. That's basically what you have described.

Guest farnsbarns