Gibson Brands Forums

What the hell happened to Gibson?

shaved_ape

I am 30 and grew up dying to own a Gibson. I would go into a guitar shop, or guitar center, what have you, and have my jaw drop at all the cool *** guitars that Gibson would do. I would say that there are less than 5 non-Gibson guitars that I want to end up owning in my lifetime.

The day I graduated high school I went to Guitar Center and got a job and to this day I still get Giddy when I see a Gibson on the wall. But all the colors and options they have been doing for the past 10 years have been absolute garbage.

What happened to the Les Paul Standard? The Les Paul Custom with a slightly more affordable price tag? What happened to the cool colors, solid colors, and standard options.

There are so many different Les Pauls now, whatever happened to one guitar with different colors?

What happened to doing Les pauls in these colors (solid) Blue, Red, Yellow, and I don't recall a standard green.

I would think with the economy in shambles that you guys would lower prices and options for the common man, such as non-figured tops and solid colors and keeping a les paul standard under $2000, a les paul custom under $2500, and an SG under $1500, well you guys do a pretty good job of that.

Don't get me wrong, I still get teary eyed at the sight of a gibson and the feel of the fret edge binding. But come on, you guys are the top guitar company in the world.

When I was 19 I saved for a year to buy my first NEW gibson, it was the proudest day of my life, maybe equal to the first time I got laid, but then again a Gibson won't laugh at the size of your dang dong... :(<_<

Here is a list of guitars I think you should start again with, followed by a list of colors you should have never stopped doing.

It is grotesquely disgusting that there are so many different models of les pauls on your site that won't hold a single ounce of "Timeless"

Guitars.

1. Showcase editions.

2. Les Paul custom lites.