Gibson Brands Forums

Used Les Paul said to be a Standard.

skilsaw

I just saw what was described as a Les Paul Standard for sale on a local stolen and used website.

I'm no expert, but it didn't look like my Standard.

It had rinky-dink looking vintage tuners and "Standard" was not engraved on the truss rod nut cover.

Other than that, what can you tell from pictures on the web?

It could be anything. a Studio, a Chibson...

The price was $1000. Okay for a Studio maybe but is it too good to be true for a Standard?

If a person is interested, they should forget the model it is alleged to be and play it.

If you like it, make them an offer. Then don't announce to the world that you got a Gibson Les Paul Standard for $1000.

The other enquiry I would make is to the police. Do they have any record of a stolen guitar with that serial number?

Guest Farnsbarns

Is rinky-dink a technical term, or the brand. Can you elaborate?

The vast majority of Standards don't have standard on the TRC. It comes and goes but over the history of the model it has been out more than it's been in.

Pics or a link would be useful.

Guest Farnsbarns

Photos, or it doesn't matter! :rolleyes:

[lol]

And, buying ANYTHING from a site that posts "stolen" items is NOT a good idea!

CB

I assumed that was a joke [unsure][-o<

Here is the ad from the Victoria buy and sell (used and stolen)

http://www.usedvictoria.com/classified-ad/Gibson-Les-Paul-Standard_24004178

See what you think.

A person needs to be more expert than me to tell if this Les Paul is a copy or not.

On Youtube videos I've seen some pretty miniscule details used as proof that a Les Paul is a fake.

And just because it is a copy, It doesn't mean it is a poor quality instrument. It may be worth the 1/4 of the new Les Paul price that they are asking.

Details people have given to prove a Les Paul is fake:

- Three screws instead of two holding the trus rod nut cover.