Gibson Brands Forums

New Les Paul Studio owner!

DrJustice

Today I finally got my first Les Paul, after a torturous wait. I bought new and unseen via mail order. It's a wine red Studio with gold hardware.

First the looks - It's so beautiful, the finish is flawless. OK, there are none of the bindings and inlays of the bigger brethren, but it just looks clean and mean. Then there's the feel of it, way more comfortable than I had imagined. I play sitting, and I think the Les Paul is more comfy than my SG Standard. Not much heavier either. It has a bit higher action than I prefer out of the box. It's not a problem, though. Somehow it seems to suit the guitar... I may try lowering it a bit, but that's for later. Even a guitar novice like me can easily feel how incredibly smooth it is - this guitar wants to be played, it works with you. And there's the sound. What can I say that you don't know. I'm blown away. It's just Good. The perfect complement to my SG 3SC indeed.

I'm not an expert, but I reckon I lucked out got a good one. It's everything I dared hope for and more.

Right, can you tell I'm stoked? Got to go and play some more now :-)

DJ

--

Love it!

That's what I was gonna buy my daughter for her birthday last Dec, but just before I ordered it, played a game and had her pick her "favorite" color in the MF line up. She picked the Fireburst, no pickguard.

It's a GREAT guitar, I even snuck it out and gigged it once.

Best to ya.

Murph.

Thanks - Now I know what all the fuss is about, this thing is sublime! :-))

At first when I saw those 'stripes' in the grain, I wan't sure, but only hours into ownership I see a unique arrowhead shape and wouldn't have it any other way. I might add that the pictures are hastily taken in too strong artificial light and got a bit washed out; it has a deeper/darker (wine) red colour in reality.

DJ

--

Les Paul studios in wine red rock. A lovely new guitar my friend! I have one too...here is my story.