Gibson Brands Forums

Getting ready for a gig-not like it used to be

Tman

Getting together to do the Arkansas Alzheimers benefit gig in July. Going to be big with an estimate of 700 people (actually a combination of activities all centered around the benefit). I just started practicing. Most of the songs we have played before, last time 4 years ago. I realized I had zero memory of how to play them never mind which part I am supposed to play. A lot of songs would probably make you upchuck (stairway to heaven, freebird) but I am excited to play them because the folks at this concert will go nuts.

Now the reason for the post. In 1978-79  when I was playing 3 times a week, I would haul my own gear (which was my guitar, an amp and the only peripheral I had, a talk box). I would tune by ear before the gig and I would have notes taped to the floor as well as the song list.

Now I have an iPad loaded with the lyrics and chords in an app called setlists, music tuned down a half a step (so we geezers can sing them) on an app called Anytune which lets me play things at any speed up to full so I can learn the solos (Slash and Jimmy Page) and I can practice in a little room with either headphones or use an attenuator. I wish that I had what I have now...when I was younger.

For grins here is our setlist (singers are parenthetical). I like to post threads to get something out of it.

So here goes, how do you prep? Teach me.

SET 1
Rock n Roll (Guy)
We're an American Band (Terry)
Tie Your Mother Down (John)
Honky Tonk Women (Phillip)
Come Together (Terry)
Sweet Child (KeKe)
Carry on Wayward Son (Guy)
Renegade (John)
Jumping Jack Flash (Terry)
Victim of Love (Phillip)
Free Fallin' (Guy)
Don't Stop Believin' (Guy)
Acoustic Mini-set
Seven Bridges Road (Guy/Everyone)
Backwater (Guy)
SET 2
Rocky Mtn Way (Phillip)
May Jane's Last Dance (Guy)
American Woman (Terry)
Stairway (Guy)
Rock Candy (Guy)
Limelight (KeKe)
Encores
Hotel California (Guy)
Freebird (Terry)
Highway to Hell ( Guy)