Gibson Brands Forums

The horrors of one's native cuisine

RudyH

As a cooking hobbyist, I've decided to go back to the cuisine of my native Germany. This may be a fatal mistake, given what I remember of that horrid food. Wish me luck, and pass the sauerbraten.

Have you tried such a thing and survived? (Of course all you lucky Italians and Spaniards are happy to revel in your wonderful native foods.)

I lived in Lousiana for 12 years or so.

Raw oysters, boiled crawfish, fried crawfish, shrimp every way possible. Alligator. Never ate Nutra Rats, but they do, down there.....

Damn, I'm hungry.

Murph.

I lived in Lousiana for 12 years or so.

Raw oysters' date=' boiled crawfish, fried crawfish, shrimp every way possible. Alligator. Never ate Nutra Rats, but they do, down there.....

Damn, I'm hungry.

Murph.

[/quote']

I'd like to try it but might chicken out

2196453373_11713be4ff.jpg

I'd like to try it but might chicken out

2196453373_11713be4ff.jpg

I'm from New Orleans... and NO F'N WAY am I gonna eat a gigantic rat unless it means I starve to death!!!!!! ... but like Murph sez, seafood is KING. The four seasons in South Louisiana are Shrimp, Oyster, Crawfish, & Crab.

And I'm cookin red beans & rice LAMF tomorrow (I know, I'm a day late)

Hey Mick, you try out that gumbo recipe I sent ya? (your green chili came out nice, by the way)

I dont remember any great dish from germany, when I went there I only ate burgers... =D>

Now down here we do have some weeird *** foods... but most of them taste great.

Take as example "cuy" which is a rodent a little bigger than a rat... tastes so good.

We have lots of such dishes, most of them I don't know how to cook (I only cook gourmet and international food go figure)... I'll gather some info and pics and post for your delight.

Edit:

Here's some live and cooked CUY

cuy2_b.jpg

cuy_roasting(1).jpg