Gibson Brands Forums

Beyond The Sea - Who Knew There Were So Many Chords?

DanvillRob

14 hours ago, RBSinTo said:

I knew.

I've been playing this song for a couple of years, and it is essentially a chord per beat. Excellent warm-up song for the left hand.

RBSinTo

I wouldn't mind hearing your version.... I try to listen to several versions of a song before I put an arrangement together. 

It's tough to compete with Bobby Darin...kinda like doin' an Elvis or Sinatra song!

4 hours ago, Salfromchatham said:

Nice job! I love this song too. One forum member (Buc) has a killer ukulele version that’s magic as well.

keep these songs alive.

Ah....Buc... what a talent!   Back in the day, several of us posted a song he wrote, "Helldorado"....it's a great song...but no one can do it like Buc did!

4 hours ago, merciful-evans said:

I like the song. I've never played it but lots of chords is typical for a jazz song

Yeah....you'll recall I posted "Mack The Knife" a few months ago... I think this song is more difficult that Mack.... even though Mack changes keys 4 times!

Rob,

Another song covered by Bobby Darin that has chord per beat choruses is "Artificial Flowers", written by Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick for the musical "Tenderloin".

Darin was multi-talented,  had a wonderful voice, and died far too young.

As for hearing my version, I have neither the gear nor the talent to record and then assail the ears of others with my singing and playing.

Except for playing with our Grand-daughters in their Music School recitals, the world will never know the musical stylings of RBSinTo .

RBSinTo

Edited by RBSinTo

1 hour ago, RBSinTo said:

Rob,

Another song covered by Bobby Darin that has chord per beat choruses is "Artificial Flowers", written by Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick for the musical "Tenderloin.

Darin was multi-talented,  had a wonderful voice, and died far too young.