Gibson Brands Forums

I think two drummers in a band is pointless.

dem00n

In jazz' date=' and I speak only for jazz because I have no knowledge of any sort of metal, drums can be seen as a melodic instrument. It would be no different than the band having two trumpets or two guitars.

Keep in mind, this is coming from a trained percussionist...[/quote']

You do have a point...but i dont see it for any other genres. I asked one of my friends who is a drummer and he did say it can be used in jazz but for anything else is pointless even fast metal drumming.

If you are the kind of guitar player who thinks a drummer is just a fancy metronome,

you might think more than one would be superfluous.

If you are a musician, and you consider drummers and percussionists as musicians too,

then it takes however many it takes to make the music you all want to make.

Regardless of genre or milieu, the interplay of rhythms CAN be as interesting as notes and the spaces between.

And never, ever dismiss or ignore the spaces between the notes.

They are as important as the notes themselves.

If you are the kind of guitar player who thinks a drummer is just a fancy metronome' date='

you [i']might[/i] think more than one would be superfluous.

If you are a musician, and you consider drummers and percussionists as musicians too,

then it takes however many it takes to make the music you all want to make.

My best friend growing up and through college was a terrific drummer and musician. We got jobs, moved apart, etc... and I learned to my horror that most drummers are not musicians, or even fancy metronomes. *Most* people who call themselves drummers are FAULTY metronomes with little to no musicianship. T

he problem with multi-drummer bands is that they're *greedy*! (only half-serious, here) If you got a musical drummer, than share the other one with some other poor band! Geeze... ;-)

If its for jazz or death metal i just dont see it the point of it! :-s :)