Gibson Brands Forums

How do you play.....by ear, or by music or tab notation????

onewilyfool

When I first started playing guitar (many moons ago) I just picked up a guitar that someone gave me, a $45 Aria classical guitar. In the beginning, I had to have my friends tune it for me and change my strings, cause I just did not have the ear to do that. So I started playing around with this Aria guitar, and figured out some simple chords, and some three chord songs, and I didn't even know the name of the chords. I would put my LP's (how's that for dating myself) on the record player, and try to strum along with the songs. My main claim to fame, was that I could figure out most songs and play along with the. I used to really enjoy figuring out the chord progressions of songs. So, in a nutshell, I self taught, and learned to play by ear, basically. Only when I started to play with others, did I learn the names of the chords. Even today, if someone says play an "A minor, augmented seventh" I won't know what they are talking about, however if they show me the chord, I will recognize it, and remember which songs I use it in...etc...etc.... When I am showing songs to others, I will say, then play THIS chord....lol.....not knowing the actual name....lol. I still enjoy figuring out songs, putting them in a key that my voice will be OK in.....and then tweaking the song, actually arranging it, so that it is recognizable, but still unique. I know there are limitations to the "by ear" methods I have, but it has served me well and gave me a good "EAR" over time. I have "some" ability to read tab, just as a reminder of what I played, lol.....but as far as structured music, I am at a loss. It is funny, my neighbor is a PHD in Music at Stanford, and he can ONLY play site reading music......when we get together to play, it is funny. How about the rest of you......what is your WAY????