Gibson Brands Forums

An open mic and a new fool

McDuff

So I have been playing guitar heavily for a little over two years now and have stumbled through writing some songs learned more chords than I thought existed five years ago and learned the amazing importance of picking out the correct strings and swapping out your plastic nut and saddle for bone. Long story short I have taken a lot of steps towards becoming a compotent player (still have a ways to go though). So I have been invited by a friend to an open mic night at a coffee house. This has me a little more nervous than I expected quite honestly. I have played in front of people before but nothing more than just passing a guitar around with a couple friends or failing at wooing a girl. I don't even have a guitar with a built in pick up. So I suppose I am just looking for some general advice. More than anything I'm torn about wether I should try to do something original or if it is better to take a safer route and just do a cover. I'm not nervous being infront of a lot of people normally but this is the first time I'll be doing anything for a crowd where I care about the out come.

open mikes can be alot of fun, usually the crowds are pretty easy on people,, you should go watch a few people play, get a feel for the crowd,, which songs do you feel you play the best and are most comfortable playing ? what have your friends told you they like ? Your material or covers ? I think if you have a really good original that would work just fine, just go out there and have fun, the more you do it the easier it becomes [angry]

In my opinion open mics are the best way to ease into performing in front of groups of people. SGSpecialguy is right that the crowds are usually pretty easy going. It's usually a very supportive situation.

So with that in mind, I would recommend an original.