Gibson Brands Forums

Learnin' to Play

Applesauced

So I'm just starting to learn guitar and I want some recommendations. I've read around the forums for about 3 or 4 hours tonight and I am impressed by how helpful everybody here is. Anyways, I want to learn on an electric and I've always loved the style and sounds of the semi-hollows. I was thinking a Dot or Sheraton II. Would these be difficult to learn to play on, and if so why? I also was interested in putting a frequensator tailpiece on whatever I get, does that make learning more difficult as well or should I put it on there from the beginning to learn with it? Lots of questions I know, I'm just getting all excited thinking about buying everything that I've been looking at. Whatever help would be great.

Applesauced

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I would get what you like to look at and what feels good. Most electrics will be easier to learn on than an acoustic since the strings are a lighter gauge. But you should get what you think feels good. All the Epiphone electrics will be great to learn on. you really cant go wrong. I had a Sheraton II at one point and I did like that guitar.

good luck and when you get your new guitar post some pic's for all to see.

You don't mention your prior experience with guitars - ever played? Been taught

anything? A guitar is an easy instrument to pick up, but difficult to master,

as many gentlemen & ladies on this forum will attest to.

You like the DOT style? Musician's Friend website has a "Value Pack"

Epiphone DOT STUDIO and 15W practice amp package for $418.00,

colors are black, white, worn cherry, sunburst. Has Alnico V humbuckers.

HOWEVER, $418.00 is

some serious coin to spend if you have ANY doubts about staying with

playing. There are also OTHER Epiphone value packs, SG, LP-100, etc.

that are less expensive $260.00 + that come with amp, too. Just get

what you can afford/save for. Get what you WANT, cuz if you don't, you'll