Gibson Brands Forums

1959 Reissue or Studio?

DanS

Good Morning: Before my question I should tell you I am new to the guitar. I am 58 years old. I wanted to learn when I was 10, but my parents wanted me to learn piano. I hated the piano and quit. So, a couple of years ago I decided my bucket list included learning the guitar. I tried lessons for about 6 months, but wanted the basics. So, I bought Steve Krenz DVD's. I like them, but have stalled on lesson 6. Heard SRV for the first time so bought an American Standard Fender Strat and signed up for Marty Schwartz at guitarjamz.com. I enjoy the lessons. I'm floundering and can't seem to focus on one or the other. I'm frustrated because I feel just stagnate. I don't seem to be moving off square one. But, that's another story. Lately, I've been reading about Gibson Les Paul guitars. Was looking at them yesterday at a guitar store and asked the manager which Les Paul I should buy if I decided to buy one? He took me right to a beautiful Gibson Les Paul 1959 reissue. Wowser! But, it captured me. Of course, at my level of play a Fender Squire is probably more than I need. But, there is something about a Les Paul I can't get out of my head. I'm trying to talk to myself and manage my expectations. Naturally, the guitar store manager thinks that if I can afford it, I should get the reissue as it will never depreciate. He plays one himself. Frankly, I'm sure I wouldn't notice or fully appreciate what I'd be buying. So, for all you Gibson fans and tremendous guitar players (think how good I'd be if I had been allowed to start 48 years ago?) I wonder what advice you can give me on this? Also, I looked at a Gibson Custom Shop KOA Songwriter guitar. Beautiful. What do you think about that guitar? Sorry if you've answered questions like this a million times before. Thanks. Dan