Gibson Brands Forums

What do you think it takes to be called a Musician?

dem00n

• Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Have a cool screen name on a guitar forum and talk about slasht00ne.

I would actually answer this, but then I would get flamed because I am most definitely not a musician according to some.

To me, a musician is someone who makes music. Makes sense no?

Yeah it does.

So you are asking if being able to play the guitar makes you a musician? I would think so, it's a musical instrument and you can play it. I'm sure your skill level would have something to do with it too. I play the guitar, bass, drums, and piano and can play the banjo, and violin. If asked I could also play the saxaphone, trumpet, and trombone (not very well, but I could play them). I would consider myself a musician.

Somebody who does music for a living and if they have another job is just a side job to continue with their musician's career.

I am not a musician, I like money too much.

I hear the one alot, it could be that to.

But it could the answer of just making music.

Have a cool screen name on a guitar forum and talk about slasht00ne.

I would actually answer this, but then I would get flamed because I am most definitely not a musician according to some.

To me, a musician is someone who makes music. Makes sense no?

It's an interesting question which I've gone back and forth on in my own head many times.

I think there needs to be a line somewhere though, I just don't know where. If I walk down the street humming an improvised tune, that doesn't make me a musician, though you could argue I'm making music.

I know this much. I've been playing for close to 2 decades now (whoa...que "feeling older" emotions...)but I don't consider myself a musician. So I guess somewhere inside me, I don't feel as though simply playing music makes one a musician.

interesting question!