Gibson Brands Forums

Forum Bros, I ask for your help

stein

As some may know, I had what seemed to me a major tragedy when I lost my storage unit some months ago. You guys have been helpful by helping me to realize what is important and what isn't regarding gear, but here is the story.

I was having some tough times and was late on my storage bill AND my phone. Phone was off for about 2 weeks. Everything I have read and heard tells me Oregon law requires 90 days before property can be sold. It was sold exactly 60 days from last payment. When I called to make a payment, I was informed it was gone, but The proceeds from the sale got me a check for about 1100 bucks.

Not counting clothes and furniture (like my great grandmothers stuff and the bed made by my grandfather) was my stereo and all my records (I was an audiophile hobbyist, and had a lot of blues and jazz recordings) and a buttload of guitars and amps. Just the amps and stereo would come to 15,000 EASY on the second hand market. Not to mention all the guitar and amp parts, NOS tubes, Vintage speakers, ect.

I had talked to a couple laywers, a couple other storage facilities, and I was pretty sure the law favored me, but I decided not to fight because it would cause more heartbreak, and I thought I would have a hard time proving and recovering value for what I was claiming was there.

So, I decided to cash the check, but it bounced. I called the storage company for a replacement, and gave them 2 issues I would like to address: the replacement check, and the question about the correctness of them selling the unit. After getting the run around for like 2 weeks, and having trouble getting a replacement check, I get a call requesting a list of what was in there.