Gibson Brands Forums

Things to look for in a great guitar

littlekenny

I'm not real big on playing an electric unplugged.

I go for feel first, then tone. I'm sure many giggers will agree with me, it's weird, but guitars that should be identical actually feel different. As a bar musician I'm going to be spending many long hours holding them, and I tend to play the same guitar for many years. (I played a '72 Les Paul Recording for 14 years)

Tone is very important, but very adjustable. I'm not gonna hear my Blue Angel in a music store unless I pack it down there, and I'm not that anal. I can play a Tele with single coils, or my ES-339, or my SG, or my daughters new Studio, and in a few minutes, am gonna sound pretty much like me. I'll adjust.

I want quiet pots/switches.

I don't sweat minor marks from people "touching" them. In a few months it's gonna have scuffs that are beyond my control.

Obvious, intonation, fretwork, rattles, buzz's, ect.

Best to ya.

Murph.

1)Of course the way it feels to you.

2)Thorough visual inspection. Neck,Bridge,frets,inlays,tuners ect...(Open the control cavities)

3)Bend the hell out of every string.

4)Tune properly

5)Play every note on every fret.

6)Noodle around for a while.

7)Wink at hot chick.(if one is available)

8)Plug in and play,checking the roll off of all the controls, and pickup selector switch.

9)Warranty and return policy.

10) If they give you any crap, you give them my #...

Because I care.

With love from my burning loins AXE®

1)Of course the way it feels to you.

2)Thorough visual inspection. Neck' date='Bridge,frets,inlays,tuners ect...(Open the control cavities)

3)Bend the[i'] hell [/i]out of every string.

4)Tune properly

5)Play every note on every fret.

6)Noodle around for a while.

7)Wink at hot chick.(if one is available)

8)Plug in and play,checking the roll off of all the controls, and pickup selector switch.

9)Warranty and return policy.

10) If they give you any crap, you give them my #...