Gibson Brands Forums

Becoming your parent's parent

Izzy

My mother is becoming handicapped. She can't live alone anymore. She can hardly walk to the toilet or get up from a chair or comb her hair. She recently divorced and has no home. She lived with me for a bit, but my house has no downstairs bedroom. She hates my live-in girlfriend. When we all lived together it was extremely stressful because of the animosity between them. She is in constant pain. She is now at my grandmother's. She isn't happy with her mother. She refuses to moveback while my girlfriend is here.

How many of you have expirience with this sort of thing? How many of you are or have been cought being a caregiver while working and going to school, or working and the kids? How do/did you handle it?

I always knew I'd care for my mother. I never realized it would be so soon (she's not even 60 yet) or so hard emotionally. You'd think as a nurse I'd be less naive.

My mother lives with me. My parents divorced in 1995, then She basically lost everything in an unfortunate business operation. She has completely collapsed mentally. She is on constant medication since, and once in a while has to spend weeks in a hospital. It's very hard. It's exhausting both physically, both mentally...a heavy cross to carry. Not much to do about it. It needs lots of patience. Sorry, I can't say anything to cheer You up, there is no easy way to go. Bence

My father is deceased, my mother is healthy and still living with her fourth husband and is doing well. Now siblings is a whole different story they've been in and out several times and I finally got smart and got a house with no spare bedrooms. If my mom ever needs it I'll support her financially but she'll live with my sister. My wife parents have there own home but financial support is required.