Gibson Brands Forums

bored of my professional life

awel

I am 40 since January, have a lovely wife and a wonderful 18 monthes little girl.

Played in 2 bands, one is Classic Rock covers and the other one is Blues Rock.

So everything should be fine

but

I am bored by my job, I am a consultant in an IT Company more precisely Senior Tester, I have worked 7 years for the European Commission and that was a challenging and interresting role (I finished Test Manager and always try to manage my way, human driven, trust based management with the tester).

Contract has ended and then I switched company since then everything went wrong, started to work for the finnancial world, which is far away from human driven philosophy I am in.

Now I am just waking up and going to work for the money, I hate what I am doing, I find IT world so cold, result and money oriented, adding the fact that as consultant I am a kind of mercenary, 6 monthes here, 4 monthes there...

I am not doing my work at all, just the minimum, except when it is about to help the other where I am always volonteer.

I am sleeping only 5h by night, and I am tired so tired, always in bad mood, not focused at all...

Am I slowly sliding to the burnout/depression?

am I 'only' exhausted?

is it some midlife crisis?

I don't know, this feeling is there since 3 years now and it 's getting worst, always sick, don't know how many time I can stand it :(

Guest Farnsbarns

Get more sleep. I used to operate on 5 hrs all the time like you. I'm about to turn 39. It took a while to realise I can't do 5 hrs any more and I started to feel the weight of life on me before I made a change.

Not saying you'll suddenly love your job but I'm sure you'll be happier over all.

I am 40 since January, have a lovely wife and a wonderful 18 monthes little girl.

Played in 2 bands, one is Classic Rock covers and the other one is Blues Rock.

So everything should be fine

but