Gibson Brands Forums

New bass

Dub-T-123

Just picked up this Squire J Bass today. Walked into a little shop just to browse and thought this purple color was cool. Picked it up and it plays really nicely but sounds a little bright with the roundwounds. The dude threw in a free set of flats for $200 out the door, and I took it :)

If I had one complaint it would be that the fret ends could use a little love which is common with these things but wow Squier has really come a long way since I started playing.. This is a great bass

Here's a pic in my beautiful motel room

ABE3F2EB-8149-46B9-BE9D-FE6B00A45F74_zpsqqtunp8u.jpg

COOL!! [thumbup] Nice score, Dub-T...and, even better, at that price.

I bought a Squier Bass VI, this past summer, just to have some kind of "bass" around,

and...It's AWESOME!! Build quality, fit and finish, all First Rate! Sounds Great, too!

My (actual) Bass VI (Sweetwater images)

ICS15281820-front-large_zpsvpw0mwgr.jpg

ICS15281820-angle-large_zpsve5aj6ot.jpg

ICS15281820-detail3-large_zpsvaojt0ew.jpg

ICS15281820-serial-large_zpsiarubqyq.jpg

The striped figuring on the back of the neck goes all the way down. It's the reason I picked this

particular version, among the 12 (4 each, of 3 colors...Black, White, Sunburst). The rest all had plain necks, no figuring.

CB

Thanks guys! It's my first bass so I'm pumped. Will be great for writing and recording at home

$200 no tax with a free set of flats.. How could I say no?! Squier has really stepped up their game. Flawless finish and setup on this thing. Could upgrade the electronics and hardware later on, but it is surprisingly nice as is

I bought a Squier Bass VI, this past summer, just to have some kind of "bass" around,

and...It's AWESOME!! Build quality, fit and finish, all First Rate! Sounds Great, too!

The striped figuring on the back of the neck goes all the way down. It's the reason I picked this