Gibson Brands Forums

Tortoiseshell Picks

Murph

I don't think I ever played one. I'm certainly old enough, but my first memory of picks are the D'Andrea and Fender Thins/Medium that "looked" like shell.  Around 1969. They were cellulose I guess. They would burn like crazy if you lit 'em on fire, I remember that. I don't know how I could have NOT been exposed since they weren't outlawed until 1973. I played in bars in 1970 in Clearwater Beach, Fla. and was playing a LOT out west by 1975.

Perhaps they were expensive around the turn of the 70's? 

How many of you old timers used to play them? Got any left over? I know you can't sell them, but pictures are surely legal, eh?

I started playing in the early-1960s so did own some.   I do not recall a thing about them though.  While I have bunch of discarded picks laying around courtesy of me switching early on to fingerpicking both acoustic and electric with my bare digits, I doubt there are any fashioned from tortoise shell.

Edited by zombywoof

I played with some tortoise shell picks.  I’m not too sure I ever actually noticed the changeover because the legal artificial replacements looked very similar, but I recall people at the time of the changeover talking about how picks that looked like tortoise shell were no longer real tortoise shell.  I always favored the pointy clear Dunlop clear thumb picks and either the clear Dunlap finger picks or metal fingerpicks rather than actual or fake tortoise shell versions or over flat picks for sure.  I may actually have an actual tortoise shell flat pick somewhere in the house that a mandolin player gave me that seems to be quite a bit thicker and less flexible than most other flat picks.  Whether it’s real tortoise shell or not, I have no clue.

QM aka “Jazzman” Jeff

Since I began playing the guitar around 1963, it is possible I might have unknowingly used one at some point, but that is just conjecture.