Gibson Brands Forums

How do I store my guitar?

Poppy

Please help. What is the best position for my case when storing my guitar. Should it lay flat on the floor' date='

on its side, or standing on its end straight up. Yes I am new to this. Thanks![/quote']

The best way is at my place.

I store mine standing up leaning against several walls in my house.

If for some strange reason your guitar is going to be in its case for months should you take the tension off the neck and loosen the strings or not?

I don't release the tension on any of them, acoustic or electric. If I were playing them everyday, they'd be tuned up all the time anyway so what possible difference could it make? I've heard that the bridge can lift on some acoustics. Possibly a cheapo or extremely old. But the top on my 40+ year old Framus 6 string is still pristine.

Wouldn't one wall be sufficient' date=' Rob? You Californians sure do things the hard way. [confused']

I don't have a single wall with enough unused space to put them all there. One day I'll make one of the spare bedrooms into a music room...now I have guitars in the office, in the office closet, in the family room, (one next to the bar, one next to the piano, two next to the TV along with the violin, and a few in the guest room. They're all cased, but "available". I'd like to keep some in the living room, but the baby grand, but the wife doesn't like the carpet with footprints on it.

Oh...by the way...I thought California WAS southern Oregon!!

Bob