Gibson Brands Forums

Changing Strings

jrsdws

What is the preferred method....one string at a time? Or all strings at once?

Fretboard needs cleaned and oiled so I assume all strings at once?

Unless you have twelve arms and hands that might be quite difficult.. :-k

Just kidding. I remove them all and clean the entire guitar & then replace them.

All at once. Leave the Fret Doctor on for an hour' date=' wipe her clean and im ready to re-string.[/quote']

Eek, you're not using Fret Doctor every time, are you? Ed Boyle, maker of Fret Doctor, recommends that you don't do that..

Don't for get to rub some baby oil on your nut. You may have to move your G-string out of the way.

Im blushing! [cool]

Eek' date=' you're not using Fret Doctor every time, are you? Ed Boyle, maker of Fret Doctor, recommends that you don't do that..

[/quote']

I dont really change my strings often. Perhaps three times year. Im not a professional, so I dont care

if my strings are squeeky clean. I do rub them down after every use though.

I change take off all the strings, then put on new ones. I usually shine the guitar up at the same time and clean the fretboard if it looks grimy.

Valve oil on the fretboard, MacGuires cleaner Polish for the finish. Just the car polish, not the guitar polish. I have a hunch it's the same stuff.

I change take off all the strings' date=' then put on new ones. I usually shine the guitar up at the same time and clean the fretboard if it looks grimy.

Valve oil on the fretboard, MacGuires cleaner Polish for the finish. Just the car polish, not the guitar polish. I have a hunch it's the same stuff.[/quote']

All done!! Took em all off...cleaned fretboard and applied a little lemon oil....cleaned and polished entire guitar and restrung.....he's banging away on it again. Thanks all.

I dont really change my strings often. Perhaps three times year. Im not a professional' date=' so I dont care