Gibson Brands Forums

Judas Priest

Californiaman

I was reminded today why I liked Judas Priest so much when I was growing up.

Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing's dual guitar assault is as heavy as it gets.

This was recorded the year after I graduated from high school. Sure brings back some memories.

[YOUTUBE]

[/YOUTUBE]

In my opinion, Tipton & Downing are the 2nd best guitar duet of all time. Too bad they stayed in 3-4 minute songs in the 80's... A greatest sample of the things they could accomplish, is given in the Judas Priest early - mid 70's album. When you start with ''victim of changes'' and ''The run of the mill'', then the sky is the limit... And, imho, they did not reach their full potential...

BTW: I think that the ''Green manalishi'' by JP is the best cover song in the history of rock / metal. How many people do actually know that it was a Fleetwood Mack / Peter Green song...?

Saw Ken only a few days ago. Was nice to catch up with him after a year or so. Guess where we bumped into each other? Asda (Wallmart)!! It ain't all rock and roll yanno. [angry]

My personal fave priest song is Painkiller but to be honest I was never a huge fan.

Oh yeah!

Priest is one of my all time favorite bands.

If you'll pardon my indulgence, a short concert experience.....

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TopkgGxGzQs[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgCe56T4HxU&feature=related[/YOUTUBE]

Something a bit more current....

[YOUTUBE]

[/YOUTUBE]

Thanks Cali. I'm overdue for guitar thirty and I think I'ma play me some Judas Priest....

BTW: I think that the ''Green manalishi'' by JP is the best cover song in the history of rock / metal. How many people do actually know that it was a Fleetwood Mack / Peter Green song...?

Yeah, a lot of people don't know that.

I'm glad Judas Priest did it. That's what actually got me started with this post. I heard in on Sirius/XM's Boneyard last night.

Great rock tune.