Gibson Brands Forums

How do you Practice and how often ?

SGSpecialguy

are you a guy who diligently works on scales and music theory ? going over and over scales till you can do them without thinking ? Are you self taught or have you taken lessons ?

Personally, when I play now days, I'll put on a cd or backing tracks and just play, I typically play every day for at least an hour or two. I am self taught and have been playing for over 35 years. Was in many bands in my younger years, played parties and even played around at schools, never did the club scene much as I ended up having kids and needed a steady job,,, I miss those days of jamming all the time though. I play anything from hard rock to classic rock and blues too,,

anyways, tell us about how you practice, any routines you might have and how often you do it.

what style do you like? classic rock, hard rock, blues , contemporary ??

You guys that are in a band may not practice because you get enough play time with your band too,,

I practice, on a daily basis, at least a couple hours a day... When I first started I spent all my time doing exercises and scales. Once I was more comfortable with the guitar I started learning some songs from videos posted on YouTube by people who post free lesson videos. Then I looked for a teacher. My teacher showed me more exercises and scales and proper fingering and some theory.

What brought it all together was finding a band that was willing to work with me, as green as I was and help me along. Once I started playing in the band I was forced to practice more and learn songs. With every new song you learn you learn new chords or different positions of playing they same chords you already know.

I think playing with other musicians is the best thing anyone can do to improve their abilities as a musician.

I practice in spurts [cool]

Some weeks I practice some every day, and then other times I might go two weeks without even picking up my guitar.