Gibson Brands Forums

What makes a guitar player a "guitarist"?

alcorn429

I've been playing for about six or seven months now. I practice atleast two hours a day. I love to play and learn new stuff and it is by far one of the best hobbies I've ever had. I think what throws me off is I've visited some of the other forums and theres all this talk about whether your a guitar player or a guitarist. To me, guitar seems like an art form that can never be perfected. A guitarist is some one who is passoionately always looking for ways to improve and learn more and then uses what they've learned to further their style of playing. Let me know what you guys think.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

"You say Tomato, I say Tohmahto!" Who cares...as long as you enjoy what you're doing,

I wouldn't worry about it. Guitarist might "sound" more "elevated" in stature, but...

it's really just a shorter (one word) way to describe one who plays guitar...IMHO.

;>)

CB

A good thing in my French language is there is only one word to name a guitar player and it's "guitariste". So I don't see no difference...In my point of view, a guitarist is a guitar player..lollll

So am I for 42 years now.

A guitar player considers the guitar a tool to craft what he or she sees fit.

A guitarist....is true to the guitar that's in his or her hands.

I almost forgot....

I've been playing off and on for almost 25 years now. I think I am only now actually taking steps to becoming a "guitarist" vs. a guitar player.

"Tools"

Thirty spokes meet at a nave;

Because of the hole we may use the wheel.

Clay is moulded into a vessel;

Because of the hollow we may use the cup.

Walls are built around a hearth;

Because of the doors we may use the house.

Thus tools come from what exists' date='

But use from what does not.[/i']

~Lao Tzu