Gibson Brands Forums

Playing with a band

ant7629

Does anyone else experience this........?

I have been playing for about 15 years now, most of that has been sat at home in front of my amp and in my own company. I have recently however joined a band after 7 years and I am having some difficulty...

It seems that every time I get together to play lead with the rest of the band, I completely freeze up and start making silly mistakes, even though I can play the songs with ease when at home. I am even making mistakes on chord changes!!

I know I can play the songs, it just sucks how everything changes when I come to play with others!!!!!!!!!!:-({|=

well, i've only really played with one other friend (guitarist) before, and i experienced the same thing. i guess i was just nervous until i became more comfortable playing around him, and at the same time, around others. and now i am fine playing around other people. well, friends at least.

Very Common! "Nerves," and trying too hard, to get it right, etc. Just try and relax. Forget about impressing the others (we all do it) at first. Close your eyes, when you play (if you know the solos and fretboard well enough), and just concentrate on playing like you would at home. I had this exact same problem, when I first started playing with other people, after a 30 year hiatus. Still do, to a certain extent, but it gets better, the more I do it!