Gibson Brands Forums

Lets see if this creates as much angst as it did with my band

Enmitygauged

ok so in my band there are 3 types of people.

1. The Theory Boys ( who know everything about scales and can read music from a thousand yards away)

2. The Trained ( The Boys who have had upteen lessons and perfected their talents but cant read music or understand scales.

3. The Self taught by ear dude (the guys who writes the music most to the lyrics and generally cant read music for the life of Him)

Ok so the Bass player who is a slightly arrogant *** mentioned that he thinks there are three types of people in the band.

1. the Musicians

2. The Paint by numbers players/ Guitarist and Drummer

3. The ear and songwriter.

Now the Guitarist who BTW is as good as good gets took offence (rightly so) at not being called a musician. The bass player responded with well you cant read music or understand scales and most of what you learn is via TAB or by paint by numbers thats not a musician.

The Problem I have as I stood up for the Guitarist and drummer is that although the Bass and Vox are trained Music Teachers and brilliant in what they do. If they tried for 365 days they couldnt write a song to save themselves.

So the million dollar question what do you guys define as a musician?

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

They make music...no?

So they are a musician.

If you paint for a living or for a hobby then you can be consider a painter, makes no sense no?

My 9 yr old son can play smoke on the water doesnt make him a musician it means Ive taught him to place his fingers on a fret board and move it around whilst picking

My 9 yr old son can play smoke on the water doesnt make him a musician it means Ive taught him to place his fingers on a fret board and move it around whilst picking

Yes but he can create music, who says he isnt musician? He might not be a good one but he is still one.

Ah man...................A musician is a musician..................