Gibson Brands Forums

So any one here got a DAW or do recording at all?

cam011235

I record every new song I learn using Audacity. It's user friendly, it's free, and it does all I need it to do. I also have Garage Band, but I am still learning it. To me, GB is very complicated. Maybe I need to read the manual. I also have Band-in-a-Box/RealBand, but I only use it for accompanyment. I wouldn't even know how to use it as a DAW.

righty so any one here actually do recording at all or got a DAW? i understand no one uses pro tools but i just thought i would check if any one actually does record [confused]

Yes...I had a nice recording studio, which the ex-wife manage to steal some years back.....

I have a Roland VS880EX (retired), a Korg D3200 stand alone unit, Sonar X-1 Producer, BFD drums, Superior Drummer 2.0, REAPER, some Cubase (not used much),

around 60 guitars, and lots of other stuff....I do not have a full set-up right now, but a partial set-up.....I record my own rough demos, I do some demo work for and with

others, I do song writing for others, and I have as much "work" as I can handle....For my "pro" recordings, I record the tracks and have "pros" do the mixing and

mastering.......................Affordable, but expensive for me as I'm on a disability income.........Music, art, law, and my family is what my life is about.......................

About Pro Tools....There's a "love / hate " thing with Pro Tools....The engineers I know who use Pro Tools also use other DAWS as well....Different DAWS are

better at different things.............................

cool yeah i find pro tools a bit daunting at times its a very powerful app but i am not sure if i get into the power features its known for it engineering software and takes a fair bit of training so i will persevere ..i am only really using the basics need to keep learning ..avid forum is ok but is huge and also full of trolls..