Gibson Brands Forums

Motivation

davidl

I'm sure everyone suffers from lack of guitar playing motivation sometimes.

How do you overcome this?

I had been having a hard time getting going and then last night I was playing with a very accomplished guitarist and it all came together.

We had a blast.

I think I do my best with better players.

It was the same with sports. I tended to move up a notch when really challenged.

How do you folks deal with motivation challenges?

Dave

Depends on the circumstances sometimes. I've been playing off and on for the last forty years. When I started, I played all the time. Pretty steady. But there came a time, and I don't remember why, but the guitars sat around for the longest time. I didn't pick one up for five or six years. I had other things going on at the time, but the major thing I remember is that I had no motivation to play. I don't know why. But then, I started picking one up to see if I could remember what I used to know. And, all of a sudden, the fire started to flare up again. I started playing more often and really getting back into to it with a passion. Been playing religiously ever since. I've often thought about the time I spent without wanting to play, but still can't explain what happened or why.