Gibson Brands Forums

This looks fake

OldGuitarPlayer

The trussrod cover on this guitar has 3 screws. I always thought Gibson truss rod covers had 2 screws. Maybe it's not original though. Again I am no expert but thought that the 1970's J-45 Deluxe was square shouldered. [unsure]

Like this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-72-Gibson-Kalamazoo-USA-J-45-J45-Acoustic-Guitar-w-Case-25-5-Scale-/230774694922?pt=Guitar&hash=item35bb3e640a#ht_6665wt_965

The trussrod cover on this guitar has 3 screws. I always thought Gibson truss rod covers had 2 screws. Maybe it's not original though. Again I am no expert but thought that the 1970's J-45 Deluxe was square shouldered. [unsure]

Like this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-72-Gibson-Kalamazoo-USA-J-45-J45-Acoustic-Guitar-w-Case-25-5-Scale-/230774694922?pt=Guitar&hash=item35bb3e640a#ht_6665wt_965

The 3 screw TR cover is a dead give away that it's a fake. Gibson never used a 3 screw TR cover and the "fakers" get this wrong a lot. Stay away from this beast.

The 3 screw TR cover is a dead give away that it's a fake. Gibson never used a 3 screw TR cover and the "fakers" get this wrong a lot. Stay away from this beast.

Agree with Paul. Don't think that pickguard design is quite right, either. Surprisingly good, otherwise, although the belly-down fixed-saddle bridge is also suspicious.

Gibson Did use three screw truss covers on Norlin Era Square shoulder guitars. I have one . Bought it for $100.00 in 1976.

You're right Elton, they used the 3 screw truss covers also on some j-200.

here a 1974 j-200 artist

2508561_1334067477.jpg

The guitar in question IS square-shouldered! And I believe the 3-screwed TRC would be the LEAST 'bone of contention' of whether the guitar is genuine or not. At least to my way of thinking.

The guitar in question IS square-shouldered! And I believe the 3-screwed TRC would be the LEAST 'bone of contention' of whether the guitar is genuine or not. At least to my way of thinking.