Gibson Brands Forums

What a surprise!! ( Pics added )

daveinspain

Found a Guitar shaped package under the Christmas tree today... The card on it said it was for me...!! I though my God a GUITAR!!! Was it the black beauty I was looking at or maybe the ES 175 I've been gassing over for the past several years? When I picked it up I noticed the weight seemed out of balance but by the shape of the package it had to be a guitar [biggrin] So I take off the wrapping paper to reveal a triangular cardboard box taped shut... Cut the tape and opened the box, there I found myself looking with wonderment on a very strange guitar case. What the... I unclipped the five latches on the case and opened the lid.... [scared] OMG it's a banjo....!!! Now what do I do, I have no idea how to play a banjo or even tune it for that matter. It's a very thoughtful gift and I'm sure it wasn't cheap but I don't like banjos. I feel like a spoiled child who doesn't appreciate a thoughtful gift but damn, it's a banjo... What do I do. I'm just starting to feel comfortable playing guitar and I'm not a youngster so I don't have time to start a new instrument. Do I say the truth that I don't like it or make like I do and never use it.

Guest EastEnder

That's the funniest story I've heard all year.

Best advice: hang it on a wall. Seriously.

Might look better than that beat-up old Les Paul you've been gassing over.

EE

The thing is it wasn't cheap... Yeah I thought I could hang it on a wall and it would look really cool but seems to be a waist of good money... I'm thinking I should say what a thoughtful gift it is but I don't know how to play a banjo and see if we can trade it for something else...

Dave...