Gibson Brands Forums

Amp dilemma

Black Dog

Hi all.

So, I am a struggling newbie. I have a Fender Champion 20. I don't like it. sounds bad to me. I almost never use it. I normally practice with a Line 6 pocket pod using headphones. That sounds pretty good to me. I normally use the "heavy - huge brit gain" setting.

I have tried a Bugera V5 infinium that I did not like very much. sounded poor. I think maybe it was the small speaker?? Then I tried a Marshall Code 25. To my surprise, I didn't like any of the presets. I spent several days trying to tweek the tone using the presets as a starting point but could never get anything I liked. Next, I tried a Marshal MG30cfx. That sounds the best of all but still not "great".

So now I am looking at a Fender mustang II vs a Bugera V22. I like the reviews and demos of both. I like the idea of the presets on the Fender but the demos of the Marshall sounded good but when I actually had the amp and tried it I thought it sucked.

One question I have is, can you use pedals through SS amps, or a modeling amp, or are they really intended for use with tube amps?

Any advice would be appreciated.

You can use anything with anything. SS amps are ok. Their only letdown is they don't have enough punch for live work. Ive got a Hughes and Kettner Matrix which is SS. It's a great amp. But with a band it's weak. I tried it through a 4 x 12 and that helped. I'm looking for a Hughes and Kettner Switchblade now which is similar but all valve.

First of all, you can use pedals along with modeling amps, but IMO that kinda defeats the purpose of the modeling features.