Gibson Brands Forums

12 string thoughts

Hall

It's taken 60 years of playing to get here, but I think I want one.   Do I?   Seems like learning  some 12 string skill and technique  would be enjoyable to me about now.   I'm leaning toward new and rosewood.  I'd appreciate some  thoughts on 12 string guitars themselves and what playing one is really all about .   Thanks everybody. 

I’ve had a couple of Guilds in the past. Never had Rosewood, but for me it was more or less a waste  of time, & money. Played them a few times, but they spent most of their time in the case, & unplayed. My personal  preference would be Guild, though I understand that Taylor makes some good ones . I have no experience with the Taylor ones. Those seem to be the most popular.  Guild, & Taylor.

Edited by Paul14

25 minutes ago, Paul14 said:

I’ve had a couple of Guilds in the past. Never had Rosewood, but for me it was more or less a waste  of time, & money. Played them a few times, but they spent most of their time in the case, & unplayed. My personal  preference would be Guild, though I understand that Taylor makes some good ones . I have no experience with the Taylor ones. Those seem to be the most popular.  Guild, & Taylor.

Ditto. 
I’ve owned four.  One a RW. After my four song repertoire of 12 strings I had no interest in it. 

Edited by Dave F

I like 12 strings.  It might take a bit to get used to the string spacing, but a 12 with good action shouldn't be much harder to handle than a 6 in terms of getting clear notes and chords.  If you can get to a shop with some 12 string stock give them a try.

Guild - agree - yes . . . rosewood:  F-512.   

Gibson's Songwriter Deluxe is underrated - very nice.  I've got one (upper right in the pic) that has rosewood back & sides with ebony fingerboard and bridge.

e7Iz9tB.jpg

53 minutes ago, BigKahune said: