Gibson Brands Forums

What famous guitar player do most guitarists love to hate??????????????

I suppose this could be viewed as a negative thread, but I mean it to be fun and quite frankly, I'm just curious.

I've been playing sax for many years, and there have always been famous sax players that the majority of sax players always hate. Most of us think we can play as well or better than they can are are jealous because they are famous and we are not.

In the old days it was Boots Randolph. If you listen to his albums, you will hear pure kitsch. It is simplistic and uninspiring. (What most sax players don't know is he was a great sax player, hearing his session work on other people's recordings or hearing him live at a jazz fest his talent was obvious and stunning).

For the past two decades it's been Kenny G. Just the mention of Kenny G on a sax forum will start a very long, mostly negative thread. I've heard Kenny is actually a good sax player but not on his signature recordings (I haven't had the opportunity to hear him live).

So I guess they are the ultimate sell-outs -- which I can't find fault with -- given the chance to make millions of dollars, I'd sell-out in a heartbeat (in fact, when I play the tired, war-horse songs for my audience, even though I enjoy it, I suppose I'm doing the same thing).

Vocalists have always had their "vocalists that singers love to hate" category, Fabian, Madonna, M.Jackson, Bob Dylan, Britney, etc., singers with no style or poor intonation -- famous singers without excellent vocal chops.

Basically what we are talking about is a famous person, revered by the public, that hundreds of musicians (including singers) in bar bands can put in their back pockets and how this applies to guitar players.

But since I've only been seriously applying myself to the guitar for a year (after many years of treating it as a toy), and I haven't been hanging around guitar forums very long, I wonder....