Gibson Brands Forums

gibson sg vs epiphone sg

marcbc

Ive been looking at sgs for a while now and i have some money saved up. i have a epiphone les paul standard and gibson lp studio and an epiphone shearton. ive been playing for about 2 years. should i spend 400 bucks and a g 400 or save a little more and get a gibson faded sg?

From what I have heard, you get basically the same quality in a G-400 as in a Gibson SG, for less cost. That is one reason why I am getting a G-400 instead of a Gibson. But if I were you, I would go out and see which one feels better to play.

"From what I have heard, you get basically the same quality in a G-400 as in a Gibson SG, for less cost."

I don't agree with that...you get a good guitar for the money when you buy a G400 but you don't get an SG for half the

price...and the PUs in the SG special faded are basically the same as what is in the elitists...I would look for an elitist SG,

just ask rotcanX...

From what I have heard' date=' you get basically the same quality in a G-400 as in a Gibson SG, for less cost. That is one reason why I am getting a G-400 instead of a Gibson. But if I were you, I would go out and see which one feels better to play. [/quote']

No, they definitely are not "basically the same quality". But the Gibson costs more than a "little more" Marcbc. If you have the money get the Gibson. But since you've only been playing for two years, you may want to start out with the G400 first, and step up to the Gibson later.

No' date=' they definitely are not "basically the same quality". But the Gibson costs more than a "little more" Marcbc. If you have the money get the Gibson. But since you've only been playing for two years, you may want to start out with the G400 first, and step up to the Gibson later. [/quote']

ok, thanks for that info.

the PUs in the SG special faded are basically the same as what is in the elitists...