Gibson Brands Forums

Common Beginner Mistakes

SomeIdiotDreamer

• Replies 110
  • Created
  • Last Reply
As someone eagerly awaiting the arrival of my first guitar' date=' I'd like to compensate for my late start by getting as prepared as I can be.

What are some common mistakes first-time guitarists make? What are some common misconceptions about the guitar? What advice do you have?

-Sid out. [/quote']

One misconception (at least for me when I started playing) was that power chords are extremely easy to play (which they are) but when you first start playing you need to stretch those hand muscles as much as you can with fretting exercises to get a good reach with your fingers across the fretboard. Good Luck! BTW, what guitar are ya getting? When you get it show some pics ok?

GC

One misconception (at least for me when I started playing) was that power chords are extremely easy to play (which they are) but when you first start playing you need to stretch those hand muscles as much as you can with fretting exercises to get a good reach with your fingers across the fretboard. Good Luck! BTW' date=' what guitar are ya getting? When you get it show some pics ok?

GC[/quote']

Umm... maybe that was confusing... what I meant is that when you play power chords with your 1st finger on the first fret, you need to really stretch your fingers to get them used to stretching them that far. It's hard at first (at least it was for me) but it gets waaaaay easier. There, that was better lol!

GC

getting as prepared as I can be.

I am about to give you the single greatest piece of advice to anyone who is starting out on guitar.

The advice does not involve techniques, or practice schedules, or taking lessons, or learning the Dorian mode, or practicing the Mixolydian scale, or finger exercises...all rubbish to learning guitar. The single greatest piece of advice, the most important thing a new guitarist must learn is.....

- buy a guitar stand (costs about $12)