Gibson Brands Forums

Can someone tell me if my Epi Les Paul is a fake?

imwl

I'm a beginner player and I just bought an Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top off ebay. The posting said it was located in New Zealand, but when it shipped it said it was from Beijing, China. Now, I'm concerned if it is real. Here are my pics: http://picasaweb.google.com/williewlee/EpiphoneLesPaulStandardPlusTopTransBlue?authkey=Gv1sRgCJylvtGTt9brwwE#

Thanks for your input.

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Looks "Legit," and...according to "Guitar Dater" and your the serial number...

"Your guitar was made at the

Qindao Plant (Epiphone), China

April 2008

Production Number: 16727

The seller, may have a distributor, in Beijing, that supplies his

instruments. The only way to be 100 % sure, of any guitar purchase,

and the guarantee that it's "The real McCoy," is to buy it from an authorized

(in this case "Epiphone") dealer. On E-bay, as always, you take your chances.

Most (good) sellers, ARE honest. But, unfortunately, not All!

Hope that helps, some?

CB

From the pics, I can't see any of the obvious signs of fakery noted in some other posts, where there were obvious deviations from Epiphone designs. Everything I can see in the pics you posted looks legit.

"Your guitar was made at the

Qindao Plant (Epiphone)' date=' China

April 2008

Production Number: 16727

[/quote'] Holy crap....they produced 16727 or more guitars in a month ???!!!??? They're really cranking them out, I guess...

Thanks for the replies. That helped a lot.

To me, the top row of knobs just doesn't seem right. They seem quite a bit off from being aligned with the strings.

It's mainly that and the fact that it came from China that concerns me. Got it brand new for $380 + ship.

As far as sound goes this Epi sounds much better than my Squire, and the neck is smooth as silk.

Any further comments would be appreciated. I still have a couple of days to decide if I should return it. Thanks again!

WL