Gibson Brands Forums

Bit of a Conundrum

Artie Owl

Alright, I'm not a professional, or semi-professional guitar player, I play because I enjoy it, I have the need to play if you will, but would I like to make a CD someday or play a live gig? Sure, who wouldn't?

I've been taking one lesson a week every week for the last two and a half years, I play when I can, mostly picking it up in between other things, and it's hard when you live in an apartment, because you can't turn it up and really hear yourself play. All that aside, I think I'm comfortable playing chords, scales, progressions, in key etc.

Last week at my guitar lesson my teacher asked me if I would be interested in participating in their annual recital, and I was immediately conflicted. I've been doing lessons for a while now and I feel like I should have something to show for it, to play in front of family and friends and such. But there will probably be kids there half my age who can really play, what if I get embarrassed by them or have to follow one of their acts?

See, here's where it becomes a conundrum;

As some of you already know, I lost my grandfather to lung cancer this year, he didn't make 70 years of age, and he was one of the biggest influences on my entire life, not just encouraging me in music.

As some of you also may already know, he had a few words of wisdom for me before he passed. I had just acquired my SG after Christmas, and took my amp and guitar over to play for him since he couldn't get out of the house anymore. My grandmother still reminds me to this day how happy he was to hear me play, and understand the instrument, not just memorize particular things. I am forever grateful that I got the opportunity to play for him.

He told me to play my music, and not to give a **** about what others have to say about it if they're only trying to hurt you.