Gibson Brands Forums

Billy Gibbons Rig Rundown

Bowdiddley

Well, I didn't think I would have the time to watch it all but it was much more interesting than I expected!

Thanks for posting, Bo. [thumbup]

.007s de rigeur and .008's when he needs a heavier string for slide playing and he's never, ever broken a string in the 12 years his tech has been working with him! [woot]

P.

Whenever somebody carps about thick strings making big fat tone and the only way to get that *[{TONE}]*, MAN, is to man up to 11s or 12s and some geezer like me chuckles and says yeah good luck with that, we are thinking of Gibbons and Page and Clapton and Hendrix and guys that set benchmarks for sound that used the same 09-42 I've been using since 1976.

Yes, Beck and Betts, Schon and a slew of others used fatties. Point being, it was never the gauge that made the sound, the gauge was just what that player liked is all.

rct

Well, I didn't think I would have the time to watch it all but it was much more interesting than I expected!

Thanks for posting, Bo. [thumbup]

.007s de rigeur and .008's when he needs a heavier string for slide playing and he's never, ever broken a string in the 12 years his tech has been working with him! [woot]

P.

Same here pippy, and when I heard that he had never broke a string I about fell over. B)

Great post, really enjoyed that interview... The guitar tech was very cool, down to earth and modest. He goes way out of his way to down play his role in keeping Billy sounding as good as he can.... [thumbup]

Yeah Dave I noticed that also, made me wonder if Billy might be hanging around close by. [thumbup] Either way he did seem like a humble and down to earth dude. I'd party with him and his boss too! [thumbup]

Yeah Dave I noticed that also, made me wonder if Billy might be hanging around close by. [thumbup] Either way he did seem like a humble and down to earth dude. I'd party with him and his boss too! [thumbup]

I agree completely.