Gibson Brands Forums

When did you know it HAD to be Gibson?

Cruznolfart

I wasn't a picker at all. I was a drummer in one of a string of garage bands, still in high school. Our rhythm player had a (as I recall) '61 SG custom with a Bigsby. White with gold. I remember thinking it was about the most beautiful electric guitar I'd ever seen. I'll admit I knew mostly nothing about guitars at the time but that one caught my eye. But beyond its looks, the thing that grabbed me about that guitar was the way the neck felt, even in my inexperienced left hand. The difference between that neck and anything else I'd ever played was like the difference between a manual typewriter and an electric. (it occurs to me there are several members so young they probably don't know what a typewriter is, let alone a manual typewriter.) Anyway, point is you could just about lay your fingers on the strings and they'd play themselves, the action was so sweet. I never forgot that neck and the way it felt. That would have been about 1964 or so. I knew, if I ever played guitar, my ultimate goal was to own a Gibson.

The Songwriter Deluxe is everything I thought it would be. Well worth the 40+ year wait. And, although it's not yet in the budget, when it is, I have no doubt the CS 356 will be no less so.

When did you know it had to be a Gibson? And how long did you wait?

I always wanted a Gibson.

When I was younger, and had less disposable income, they were out of range. I settled for Peaveys and such.

Around 1985 I started playing guitar with my brother in law on weekends. He had a 1965 Melody Maker (SG 2 pup), and an older Firebird. I loved to play both, and soon after, I found my "62 LP/SG in a local pawn shop. I have demanded that all my guitars have great tone and playability since then. No going back to the cheapos for me.

I still can't afford all the Gibsons I want, but I have 2 more than most people, so I consider myself lucky.