Gibson Brands Forums

What do I need to do?

Dub-T-123

I'm having a horrible problem with constantly breaking strings. The past two or three practice sessions I've played I've broken multiple strings one after another. Just tonight I broke three strings and it was a brand new set of strings because I broke three strings last practice.

It's really starting to annoy me. I started playing bass with a pick a lot and with the music that I play I just got used to strumming extremely hard because of this. Once I transfer over to guitar I strum with the same intensity and it sounds good but I'm breaking strings left and right.

What do I need to do? Strumming lighter is not an option. I pick softly and fingerpick a lot of the time but sometimes I need to play really hard or it sounds lame.

This is with my Tele and I've been having this problem with Ernie Ball regular slinkies and DR TiteFit 10s. If I switched to 11s or 12s would that solve my problem? One of my bands finally has enough material to start gigging and I really don't want to worry about breaking strings on stage.

Try to see where the strings are breaking. If it's at the saddles you may have a problem there. How long has this been going on? You may have bought a couple defective sets of strings as well if the two sets you speak of came from e the same batch, say a set of three or something like that... Might want to take a look at the angle you use with your pic. A slight angle variation might help.

I use the same strings as you and havent broken them in years (hopefully i wont break them today now I've said that). So I dont think the string gauge is the major issue but try playing less aggressively and as already mentioned check the nut or bridge

I used to break strings a lot so I upped my gauge to 11s and have not had a problem since. I too strum with Neanderthal, ham handedness and 11s can take the abuse.