Gibson Brands Forums

Am I causing myself future grief?

skilsaw

I have a les paul with a scale length about 24 3/4

and two other guitars with a scale length 25 1/2

Right now I'm a rookie and play everything in the first hand position up by the nut.

Will I have extra difficulty learning higher finger positions if I use guitars with different scale lengths?

Or do you just learn the difference?

Will I have extra difficulty learning higher finger positions if I use guitars with different scale lengths?

No and no. Nothing to learn. You won't even really feel a difference. Size matters... but not that much. [biggrin]

I have a les paul with a scale length about 24 3/4

and two other guitars with a scale length 25 1/2

Right now I'm a rookie and play everything in the first hand position up by the nut.

Its not more difficult other than maybe for stretching/reaching, some people notice it, others not so much. For me the difference was noticeable more in the beginning of my playing Fender style guitars (I'd been playing Gibson types prior). Don't even notice it anymore and switch back and forth pretty regularly.

As Surf has already said No and No.

Think about it; the biggest differences in fret-positioning between the two scale-lengths - by far - are to be found in the first few frets; after that the differences become almost negligible.

If you haven't experienced too many difficulties in adjusting your finger-work down by the nut-end then you won't even notice that there IS a difference up past the 12th fret...

Pip.