Gibson Brands Forums

J200 bulge

DScrunchy

Hello to all Gibson enthusiasts!!

I have a J200 I bought new in June 2014. It has been in it's case and I only take it out to play it, then put it back in the case. I am an amateur player, and this guitar is only played in my house. I live in south Florida where we have very high humidity. That being said, I have a hygrometer in the room that shows an average of 49-55% RH. I keep the A/C set at between 73-77*F. Today after playing this guitar, the light hit it just right and I noticed two dimples on the top of the guitar at the tail block. Also the whole back of the body seems like it has a bit too much arch on it.

I've read a lot about guitar humidifiers, but I don't think the typical dry environment scenarios apply to my space. I have a small dehumidifier we use in the bathroom to help with the excess humidity.

I don't want to cloud the issue with my ideas. Please give me any advice on all of these questions:

1. It normal to have a bulge like that on the back of a J200?

2. Does anybody have any info on acoustic guitars in a high humidity location?

3. What about the top dimples? Has anybody seen this? What did you do?

In the pics the guitar is hanging on the wall. I've always kept it in the case, but I thought I would hang it on the wall for a couple of days to see if things changed with more air flow from the central A/C in the house as opposed to staying in the case.

I've read about the humidipacks and I am considering those.

For the record, the guitar plays nice, sounds great and when the straight edge is lined up from the neck to the bridge it looks good. It doesn't appear that this a case of a sinking bridge or that it has pulled the bridge up.

Please take a look and post your ideas or experiences if you have any.

Thanks for looking,

Cheers,

DScrunchy

post-17608-012007500 1443490603_thumb.jpg

post-17608-098581200 1443490613_thumb.jpg

post-17608-006591200 1443490628_thumb.jpg