Gibson Brands Forums

Koa or Brazilian Rosewood?

Thanks guys. I've limited experience with either wood, but it doesn't look like any Koa I've seen, either. The view through the sound hole looks like East Indian Rosewood, but the picture of the back looks like the colors of Brazilian. Can East Indian get the coloration this guitar shows? The EI I've seen is usually just black.

The guitar is from this Ebay ad:

Gibson J-45 Custom Deluxe Abalone Vine Acoustic Guitar 2000

The seller claims it was "custom made" for a famous singer/songwriter, which made me wonder if it was built back in the days when the Gibson custom shop actually made custom guitars. Then, I suppose, it might have been possible for a guitar to have been built of BR.

More possible, I guess, is that the seller just confused the word "custom," which in Gibson talk means an EI rosewood J-45 with a rosette, with an actual "one of a kind" guitar.

Certainly has a koa color on the outside, but the inside just as certainly looks like EIR. I have seen koa that has wide, relatively straight grain like the back & sides on this one, but I believe it to be rosewood of the Indian variety. The eBay description says it was made for Kostas......the guy that wrote many of Dwight Yoakam's hits......might be difficult to prove that, but doesn't seem all that significant anyway.

Who a guitar might have belonged to makes for an interesting story...or not. However, if the seller expects to get one extra dollar because the guitar belonged to someone famous, he should have good, solid provenance, or not be wasting our time. That radio station that used to come out of Villa Acuna, Coahuila, and beamed all over the US, would send you an autographed picture of Jesus.