Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson SG for instrumental music

agjs

Hey guys. I'm a huge fan of Satch, Vai, Buckethead, and similar artists and that's the main type of music I play. Aside from that, I play some hard rock and metal.

Since I never owned a Gibson and I've been playing for 15/20 years, I'm thinking to buy Gibson SG 2018 Standard and I'm wondering if the mentioned artists above would sound any good on the SG. 

I would love to hear if any of you are playing a lead guitar on your SG, how does it feel to solo, shred, etc on it. I'm aware that not having a FR or tremolo is a limitation but I have more than 10 Ibanez guitars and I'm covered there. 

Kind Regards,

Alex

I have two SG's and they are great all around guitars. However, my only complaint is that everyone SG I have played it's neck heavy. But reach in the upper fret area helps to forget about the neck heavy artifact. 

I read somewhere there are guitar straps that combat the issue of neck heavy guitars, but I cant seem to find the link.

I read someone say that SGs are quirky, but are phenomenal guitars. I tend to agree with it. It is neck heavy, so you'll need a strap that'll grip, like a leather strap. As a LP player, even though the scale lengths are the same, the neck feels farther away from your body. However, if you can live with these things or somewhat tame some of its quirks, it's just a surreal guitar. It is extremely versatile (I've seen Jazz players use them), it has all the fret access, sounds phenomenal (the thing can growl, yet retains clarity in a way that is unique to SGs), it is light as a feather, can take a proper beating, in summary it is just amazing. I don't like trems or FRs, so I can't help you there, but since I've got my first SG, I hope I'll always own one.