Gibson Brands Forums

Hand strength

TomG76

I have weird hands...

...for a man my size they're not very big - indeed as a guitarist I sometimes curse my short fingers. But they are very strong. I've unintentionally hurt people when shaking hands and turned off taps so tightly that other people can't turn them back on. If you need a lid off a jar, I'm your guy.

I've been doing some training in anticipation of taking up judo and it's made my hands even stronger.

I've realised that I'm fretting so hard that the string goes out of tune. Whilst learning control must be hugely important, is there any merit in adjusting the action or string gauge? Or is it all about being more nuanced and sensitive?

Forum favourite @Jinder plays beautifully and seems to have much bigger hands than me. 

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, jedzep said:

The players who can move from acoustic to electric and adjust their fretting finesse level proportionately are the ones who really impress me. 

Yes. Being subtle is so important. I also hit the balls too hard when I play pool or snooker!

Hah!  Firesign Theatre called it 'stopping power'.  I work on it while playing all the time, and find it satisfying to have a variety of tones at hand. 'Slowing power' is also a great tool, sometimes hard to teach.  I learn by copycatting anyway,  so easy for me.

When I had my house moved, the guy who did the foundation drove the biggest excavator I'd ever seen.  He dug and shaped the hole, swinging that claw around with the lightness of a symphony conductor.  I think he moved my needle on appreciating nuance and finesse.

• Thanks 1

I've always had relatively short/fat fingers for a guy my size....but they were pretty strong also.

I've played guitar for about 60 years, a little piano for maybe 55 years and spent a lot of time typing on a manual typewriter and the old 'IBM Selectric' typewriter.   This gave me pretty good finger dexterity.