Gibson Brands Forums

NGD, is the 8th one the charm?

sparquelito

Okay, so after selling my last Les Paul 4 months ago (and foolishly vowing not to even consider another one for at least a year), here I am with another LP NGD.

To my credit, I did a lot of soul searching over the past months, and pondered why it was I never bonded with the 7 previous Les Pauls I had owned, on and off, since 1978. I came to the realization that I had been longing for a particular LP model, since 2007 anyway, and for whatever reason, never came across one that I could put my hands on.

I'm talking about, of course, the weird, wild, and woolly 2007 thru 2011 Gibson Les Paul BFG.
I had purchased a BFG back in 2019, but that was the re-issue. It didn't possess the original weirdness of the earlier incarnations. (Naked zebra Burstbucker, P90, clear Lucite cavity covers, no truss rod cover, wooden knobs, and a kill switch.)
So it came in and out the door in fairly short order.

I finally located my oddball dream guitar a week and a half ago, rolled the dice, and had it shipped from the previous owner up in Canada. Via Reverb, of course.

Here she is. A 2011 model. All original, with two slight modifications.
The Grover tuners were replaced by the previous owner with locking-type tuners, and the naked zebra Burstbucker was replaced with a Gibson 500T humbucker.
I must say that I don't mind the replacement tuners at all, and they work really well.
And the 500T is a monster pickup. Loud, toneful, and possessing some serious balls.

Best of all, and I have technically had the guitar for two days now, I am really bonding with this guitar.
It's light, at 7 lbs, 2 ounces.
I love light.
And it has the best, most comfortable-feeling neck of any Gibson I have ever owned or played.
I really like the feel of this neck.
The P-90 is super expressive, and the volume knobs and single tone knobs work like no others I have encountered.

Two thumbs up.
Hoping that number 8 is the charm.

🙂