Gibson Brands Forums

So how long have you been playing...Or when did you get your first guitar?

bobrollar

Im sure this topic has been discussed before but I'm just curious how long you guys and gals have been playing guitar. Or anything other stringed instrument. I got my first guitar in 1996. So that would be 14 years for me. All self taught and still could use some work.

Well, My Dad plays, so I've always had guitars in the house. I got my first one at the age of 8 (although my Mom insists it was 6), a Global Student Sized Acoustic with a Fender-like Burst. My Dad showed me a couple chords and the opening to "Baby Please Don't Go" and that was about as far as that went until I hit 15 and took up the Bass, a year later the got a full sized Acoustic and started to take things seriously. I'm 38 now still at it.

Took up the Trumpet in the 8th Grade, but this was a "Stringed Instrument" Question.

First acoustic when I was 4 (it was my mom's to play drum on with two huge matches), my first dreadnought at the age of 10, first electric at the age of 14, first Gibson LP at the age of 17 ... (btw I'm born in one of the best wine years ... '64)[biggrin]

Learned my first few chords on the family nylon string guitar during the late 1960's. Got my first electric in 1970. Played my first gig in 1973. It's been all down hill from there, but 40+ years and 1000 gigs later I'm still at it.

My mom bought me an electric guitar from a garage sale when I was probably around 8 but I didn't really start playing until I was 10 (1975). My brother taught me the barre chords to play "Takin' Care of Business." I didn't learn those open "country" chords until I was probably 12 or 13.

I guess to answer your question - I've been playing for 35 years.

Took up the Trumpet in the 8th Grade' date=' but this was a "Stringed Instrument" Question.[/quote']

I played the Trumpet 5th-6th grade, said "screw it" and a few years later bought a guitar. Which I've been playing about 5 years now.