Gibson Brands Forums

Tube amp suggestions

alpinebob22

Hello,

This is my first time to post, so bare with me...

I just bought my first LP- a Traditional Plus and am starting to look at amps to compliment it. I have some preferences which are more or less guidelines rather than absolute necessities. I'd like to find an amp which is 15 watts or less, all tube including rectifier, with onboard reverb. I currently have a Super Reverb RI, and am looking for a smaller bedroom/practice amp that will break up without the cops showing up at my door. My max is ~$2k, ideally I'd like to stay under $1500. I would consider used, but I live in Alaska so Ebay/Craigslist isn't a real possibility.

As far as playing styles, I'm mainly into Blues/Rock. My other guitar is an Eric Johnson Strat, so anything that would compliment both guitars would be a plus.

Thanks for any advice.

For that money you'd get a second hand Mesa Boogie.

+1 You can't go wrong with an LP plugged into a Mesa. EOS Plus, Mesa's are pretty bullet proof. Even second hand, they rock out forever.

Sounds to me like a Mesa Express, or a used Dual Rectifier Blue Angel/Maverick/Mini Rectifier would be right up your alley. The Express uses a silicon rectifier with a SAG circuit, but the others - the Mini, use switchable Tube or Silicon as they are Dual Rectifiers. You can easily pick up a combo for less than 1K used.

Lone Star Special has all of the specs you are looking for, and can be had new for less than 2K.

Personal opinion herefollows <_<

For bedroom use consider saving a shed-load of money

And purchase a hybrid amp like Vox Valvetronics

Great sounds with valve pre-amp

Sound fab/groovy at low volumes

Spend the saved money on more guitars, female company, leather straps, beer.....

V

:-({|=

Dr Z

Carr Mercury (but no tube recto)

Swart

Matchless

I'd say these are up there amongst the best.

Another one that comes to mind with a tube recto is the handwired AC15.