Gibson Brands Forums

My Gibsons have made me claustrophobic?

Vega1

I've been playing my Les Paul and SG almost exclusively for a few months now (and an acoustic once in a while). The other night I got my HM Strat out so it knew I still loved it... and all of a sudden the volume knob is completely in my way. I can still play it, but it feels so cramped trying to avoid the knob now. [confused]

I've played that guitar for over 20 years (and another 1977 Strat I owned til 1999) and never noticed that knob getting in my way. Whats the deal? Did my style change to suit the Gibsons without me noticing?

When I first started playing a stratocaster, that knob was my biggest issue. I was so mad I thought I would never be able to play a strat. Finally, I "learned" how to play one without messing with the volume knob.

Funny about this thread, I grabbed my stratocaster and recorded some blues today. I haven't played it in months, and the action is very high. The knob is not an issue now, but playing 1 is definitely different than playing a Gibson. I'll probably post the video later. it's a different beast, IMHO.

A common complaint of people who make the move from Gibson to Fenders is about the knob placements,especially the volume control.Since the Strats and Teles were mainly designed by country influenced players they specified that the controls be placed relatively close to the strings to facilitate the steel guitar like volume swells prefered by country pickers.Conversly a lot of Fender players find the switch to Gibsons somewhat off-putting as they don't allow for easy volume swells.

My 62 reissue is the total opposite. Frets are farther apart and there is more space between strings. Wild.

The fret spacing isn't the issue for me. The string spacing is and if your 62 RI Fender has more space between the string than my Les Paul or my Chet CG then Fender is doing a really crappy job of copying the vintage specs for their reissues.